Monday, October 31, 2016

My Teacher Is a Monster! (No, I Am Not!)


Just in time for Halloween, Ruth and Dee's language groups are getting started on a new writing piece mixing fact and fiction. Last week, I read aloud Peter Brown's My Teacher Is a Monster! (No, I Am Not!) to get students thinking about people in their lives and the animals they may resemble. In this story, the teacher stomps and roars like a monster, and it's only after spending some time at the park with her student does she become less like a monster and more like a human.


After we read the story, we brainstormed our own pairings and were able to name specific traits the humans and animals shared. 


We are using information we already know about animals and have learned from the PebbleGo Animals database to build a case for why our chosen humans are whatever animals we choose. This week, we will begin mapping out our stories!

River students generate comparisons for their own stories.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Fans of Elephant & Piggie...

The Thank You Book marked the final installment in the Elephant & Piggie series, the complete series totaling 25 beloved stories! It's certainly a favorite in Lower School - check out our shelf below:



Now that this series over, though -

What to read next?!

From Mo Willems' website
While Elephant & Piggie have retired from having adventures of their own, they are happy to introduce and share a brand new set of friends in each book of the new Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series. These two books are just as funny, lovable, and clever!

Happy reading,